Study Israel’s Rise, Fall and Renewal (1 & 2 Kings, Ezra, Nehemiah, Habakkuk, Haggai, Malachi)
– Presented on 4 Aug 02 by Adult E Class (Teachers: Choo WB and Leong PC)

The 7 books that we are studying cover:

History of the Kingdom – where 1 & 2 Kings relate the stories of the united and divided nations of Israel and Judah and how they were eventually exiled;

History of their restoration to the land of Canaan, as depicted in the books of Ezra and Nehemiah, and

The Prophets – which covers the ministry of the prophets to the people during their return from exile

Alternatively, these books, which cover a period of 530 years. starting with the reign of King Solomon, can be grouped under three time periods in the history of God’s dealing with the nation of Israel. They are:

” The Pre-Exilic Period which traces the rise of the kingdom of Israel

” The Exilic Period where a fallen Israel is exiled

” The Post Exilic Period where Israel is restored back to Canaan and spiritually renewed

– Summary in Points –

The 7 Books cover :
– History of the Kingdom (1 & 2 Kings)
– Story of United and Divided Kingdom
– Their eventual exile

History of their Restoration (Ezra & Nehemiah) :
– The Return to Canaan

The Ministry of the Prophets :
– Haggai
– Malachi

The 7 Books covers 530 years

Cover three periods of Israel’s History :
– Pre-Exilic: Rise of the Nation of Israel
– Exilic: Fall of the Nation
– Post Exilic: The Return and Renewal of the Nation